[Skip to Content]


RCOphth and NIHR Researcher of the Year Awards

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists and The National Institute for Health Research are pleased to announce the launch of a new national award scheme to recognise outstanding contribution to clinical research by Fellows/ Members of the College. The RCOphth/ NIHR clinical researcher of the year award is launched this year, commemorating 10 years of the

ASME and GMC launch their Excellent Medical Education programme for third year running

The Association for the Study of Medical Education (ASME) and General Medical Council (GMC) has teamed up for the third year to launch their joint Excellent Medical Education programme, with three winners being awarded up to £5,000 in funding each. The deadline for submissions is 12 noon on Friday 2 December. The Excellent Medical Education Programme

Awards and prizes currently open for application

Dorey Bequest and Sir William Lister These travel awards are now open for ophthalmologists in training who are undertaking a Fellowship or research project abroad. The amount awarded is generally between £300 and £600. For further information and to apply for the awards please download the application form. The completed form should be submitted in

Essay Prize for Foundation Doctors now open for application

This year’s Essay Prize for doctors currently in a UK Foundation Programme (F1, F2) is now open. Entries are invited on the essay “Does Direct Ophthalmoscopy have a role in the modern NHS”. Candidates must nominate themselves for entry by submitting an essay of up to 1500 words to the judging panel. Essays will be

Awards and Prizes Reporting

30 Years of RCOphth Essay Prize 1st Prize – Jacintha Gong 2nd Prize – Anindita Hom-Choudhury Patrick Trevor-Roper and Ethicon Foundation Fund As a condition of the Ethicon Foundation Fund and the Patrick Trevor-Roper Undergraduate Award, successful candidates are required to submit a report within three months of their return from their visit or fellowship.  Reports